All India Womens Rugby 7's Championships Information

Written by Продвижение-как выйти в ТОП?
Created: Wednesday, 22 April 2009 04:21 Last Updated: Monday, 27 April 2009 15:17
Hits: 109243

16 Women's Rugby 7s teams will compete in the first All India Womens Rugby 7s Tournament to be held at the Bombay Gymkhana Mumbai 23-24th May.

Many of the teams have been training for weeks and expectation is high for a great 2 days of Women's rugby.

Orissa, Bhubaneswar, KISS, Jungle Crows, Manipur, Mumbai Rhinos, J and K, Nanded, Pune 1, Pune 2, Frank Anthony College, Kerela, Assam, Manipur, Rajahstan and Jharkhand.

Tournament Format 

16 teams 7 minutes each Way Pool play then Plate Bowl Cup. Standard international 7s tournament format.

All Finals will be 7minutes 

Squad 12 Players + 2 Officials - Squads must contain 12 players


ALL teams are responsible for own medical Insurance. Proof of such to be provided at managers meeting on evening of 22nd May. NO INSURANCE NO PLAY NO EXCUSES

Player Registration

All players’ and Coaches must complete a 2009 season Player registration form. Coaches to do the same

These are located at

All players should be over 16. Special dispensation for this tournament may be given in certain circumstances.

Players wishing to be considered for National team must be over 17 as per International rules.


Haj House VT shall be the accommodation base for all girls involved with the tournament. This is female only accommodation


Travel to and from Mumbai for outstation teams is at own cost. The accommodation is located close to the ground - 10-15minutes walk


Rugby India shall provide vouchers to each team to allow them to purchase their own food (this is similar to what is done for U20s and All India)

All India Women’s Rugby 7s National ChampionshipsSelection to National SqaudThe selection for the probable’s of an Indian Women’s National squad will be done at this Tournament.

A training squad 18 players will be short listed for a Training & Preparation camp. This camp would begin on 25th May and conclude with the final selection of the National squad.

The National squad will comprise 12 players only. The players not making the final cut would be asked to return back on or before 29th May.

The first Indian National Women’s Team will depart for Bangkok on Thursday May 28th for the Asian Women’s Rugby 7s Tournament on 30th and 31st May returning to Mumbai on Monday June 1st

To be considered for selection for the National squad players must bring along with them:

a) Passport valid for more than 6 months i.e. valid up to Dec 2009.

b) All Passports must have an “Emigration clearance not required" stamp.

c)  6 recent passport size photos + a Xerox copy of the passport.

d) Sufficient training kit and change of clothing for extended stay. • Free Website Templates - Downlaod Full Themes